top of page

Customer Reviews

TC_L_2023.png

Some of my clients include...

Rabbi David Fohrman

Founder, AlephBeta.org

Nachliel knows his stuff…he can create a unique blend of the ancient and the modern, as he tickles your imagination at the Met. A deep, impressive dive into Jewish History. Dive in!

Rabbi Ethan Tucker

Rosh Yeshiva, Hadar Institute (formerly Mechon Hadar), New York

We so enjoyed having Nachliel as our guide at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Our group had been studying rabbinic materials about idolatry and Nachliel helped bring those issues to life through the Met’s collections. His comfort both with the ancient and classic sculpture we looked at as well as his fluency in Bible and rabbinic literature were terrific!

Rabbi Yitzchok Tendler

Executive Director, Beth Jacob Atlanta

Nachliel’s visits to Atlanta are always eagerly anticipated, and each time he brings a fresh perspective to his presentations. New archeological findings are interwoven with historical vignettes to craft a riveting story for all ages.

The attentive crowds pepper him with questions, which he ably answers, and participants walk away with a renewed appreciation for Jewish history and what our people have endured over the millennia.

Lauren R. Perlman

Founder and Director, mummiesandmasterpieces.com

What a treat for me to join this virtual tour with Nachliel Selavan. I truly respect and appreciate all the hard work that goes into quality museum education programs. Thank you, Nachliel! I enjoyed your image selections, along with all of the interesting information that you provided. Additionally, what a delightful surprise to have been transported to the Oriental Institute and hearing your thoughts on the collection. A true pleasure from beginning to end.
Thank you!

Professor Aaron Demsky (retired)

History of Ancient Israel
Director, Project for the Study of Jewish Names

Department of Jewish History and Contemporary Jewry, Bar Ilan University

I want to recommend Mr. Nachliel Selavan who has developed an entertaining and informative program giving meaning to artifacts from the Ancient Near East in various museums in North America. I have taken his guided tour at the Boston Museum for the Fine Arts and enjoyed every minute of it. He has the knowledge to place these artifacts within the scope of the Bible and Jewish tradition. This tour is particularly beneficial for Jewish groups, synagogues and day school students of all ages and backgrounds. Nachliel’s delivery is superb and his excitement for his subject is contagious. I am happy to recommend him to you.

Tova Saul

Licensed Tour Guide

Yesterday I took a 2 hour tour of The Israel Museum (focusing on Jewish history through time) with Nachliel Selavan (Barnea's son), whose business name is "the Museum Guy". He pointed out and highlighted loads of things I never would have noticed or known about, all the while making the time fun. I highly recommend taking any tour he ever gives, if you want to greatly enrich your museum tours and touring content outside museums as well. I certainly plan to.......

Mijal Bitton

Wrote review Jul 2022 on TripAdvisor

Book him!
Nachliel is a superb guide and educator. He combines deep knowledge of both academic and religious subjects and also the ability to hold people's attention for seemingly archaic and old subjects. I have done two tours with Nachliel, one in the Met and one in the Biblical Lands museum and he's simply excellent. I hope to do many more!!!

Rabbi David Bibi

Senior Rabbi Benai Asher of Long Beach Resident Scholar Edmond J. Safra Synagogue Manhattan

….although the goal of Met is to present art and not teach history, history is there for us especially with the right guide. We were lucky to have with us Nachliel Selavan
…our tour was focused on the four kings, we took many tangents beginning with tracing Abraham’s journey from Ur Kasdim to Haran and down into Canaan to Egypt and back. We traced the steps of the fleeing prophet Jonah from Israel to Tarshish and back across the fertile crescent to Ninveh. We stood in the corridor of an Assyrian throne room experiencing what the Jewish kings must have felt during the time of Sennacherib. And then we began our journey in the world of Nebuchadnezzar who insisted that his name be everywhere trying to imagine his world and our people in their first exile…We moved from Babylon to Shushan, seeing a palace larger than we ever imagined and understanding how a party could go on for six months…We traveled to Macedonia with King Philip II and then saw how Alexander the Great conquered and changed the world…We saw the beauty of Yefet. We saw that which influenced us and undoubtedly influenced our ancestors leading to a civil was which culminated in Hanukah…We met with Nero, Vespasian and Titus discussing the Talmud’s stories of them. We heard how the Torah was saved by Rabbi Yochana Zakai and how the oral Torah was saved through Rabbi Yehuda HaNasi and Antoninus his friend and Caesar and we discussed who the Antoninus of the Talmud may have really been. It was truly a journey through the four kingdoms and one I will continue to explore…

Doris Dweck-Cohen

Barkai Yeshivah, Brooklyn

…Throughout the tour, my students made connections to many other units they covered in all of their studies, and delighted in that they were able to integrate their knowledge. After the tour, the students thanked me heavily and unanimously agreed that they felt they connected more with the story of Hanukkah after having done the tour. Nachliel, they agreed, was knowledgeable, passionate and brought this piece of history to life. Like one student said- “I never knew that these galleries in the museum had anything to do with the Jewish people-but now I see that we really were there”. The tour gave my students a feeling of relevance and belonging to the ancient world, and they walked out feeling uplifted and happy with their newfound understanding of this time period. I am very grateful that these tours exist and look forward to doing more in the future, in relation to Hanukkah and other periods in Jewish History.

Rabbi Levi Welton

Lincoln Park Jewish Center, Yonkers, NY

This guy is incredibly diverse. A painter, archeology expert, “chazzan”, Torah scholar and more.
I had seen all the media buzz about his tour at the The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York but didn’t really know what to expect. But as he presented his lecture “A WINTERS TALE”, I was blown away by how he masterfully weaved ancient archeology and history with sources from all over the Torah. One second he’s talking about Athena and the fascinating influence she had over the Founding Fathers of this country and the next second he’s talking about the “spiritual maturation” that took place in the conversations between Queen Esther and Mordechai in the story of Purim. It didn’t surprise me that he received a resounding applause from all who were there.
I’m proud to say that if you’re the least bit interested in ancient Israel, archeology or the Jewish story as expressed through art history , you should head to his website or Facebook page "The Museum Guy" and book a tour with him ASAP: www.museumtours.co.il

P.S. He didn’t pay me a cent or even ask me to say any of this. But I’m just so bored of people who are showboaters and this guy has this “quiet charisma” that I truly admire!

Talia

My cousin, at age 4

I really liked going to the MET with Nachliel. We saw lots of amazing things together. We should go again soon!

Rabbi Mimon Mamane

Associate Rabbi Congregation Magen David of Manhattan

Our Synagogue organized a private tour of the Met with Nachliel’s Torah Intermedia as a Hanukkah synagogue outing, and I must say that the tour was fantastic. Nachliel is as knowledgeable as he is entertaining, and he seems to know the museum like the back of his hand. Our tour was Hanukkah-themed, and was well attended and well liked. I would certainly recommend the tour to synagogue leaders looking for a creative synagogue event, and to families seeking to engage their children in exciting conversations about Jewish History. I can say that the tour brought History to life, and provided important context for better understanding the era in which the Hanukkah miracle took place. I would certainly hire Nachliel for future events, and would recommend the tours to anyone.

Norman Lerner

Kingsway Jewish Center, Adult Education Chairman

Our group of about thirty had a unique educational and experiential museum encounter.
Nachliel has an excellent command of our ancient past and is able to communicate history and its importance to his audience.
He goes out of his way to involve individual group members in the museum experience.

Rabbi Saj Freiberg

Outreach Director, YEHUDI, Miami, FL

I have been running Jewish outreach programs in Miami for over a decade. Nachliel Selavan gave our students a passionate, articulate, and content packed presentation. His ability to bring the ancient world of the Jewish people to life is truly impressive. His classes were very effective at engaging our students, and giving them a thirst for more Jewish learning. Of the many Jewish educators I have met, I found Mr. Selavan’s material uniquely content rich and yet simultaneously accessible.

Binyamin Roscher

From Highland Park, NJ

Nachliel brings a passion for teaching about Torah and Judaism that is truly infectious. His excitement with the material gets his students interested. His knowledge and engaging teaching style makes him one of the best Jewish teachers you can find.

Rabbi David Bassous

Congregation Etz Ahaim, Highland Park NJ

Nachaliel gave a great presentation at Congregation Etz Ahaim over Shabbat without any slide shows. His fluency, enthusiasm and obvious expertise on the subject synchronized the biblical account with the archaeological artifacts and brought the past alive with very important moral messages for us in the present. Highly recommended.

Rabbi Emanuel Feldman

Congregation Beth Jacob, Atlanta GA

Nachliel Selavan’s presentation on certain aspects of Jerusalem’s history was fascinating and highly informative. We were all enthralled by his material.

Mijal M.

Wrote review June 2022 on TripAdvisor

Digging into the museum!
It was a very good experience. Visiting a museum with Nachliel is another level, his guidance helped us understand and delve into the ancient civilizations that were in contact with the Jewish people, not only historically, but also philosophically.
It is very worth it!

Raquel H.

Wrote review June 2022 on TripAdvisor

“Museum Guy Nachliel” is a fabulous guide.
We had visited the Israel Museum a number of times trying to see as much as possible but always left with the feeling we had only just scraped the surface. We knew we wanted a more curated experience, seeing less but understanding more. A few people recommended Nachliel (calling him “Museum Nachliel”), saying he was the absolute best museum guide in Israel… so we hired him.

Nachliel did not disappoint.

We discussed ahead of time what we were interested in so he took us to both the Israel Museum and the Bible Lands Museum, where he selected one theme and dug deep into it. We got what we were looking for!

Nachliel is very knowledgeable and presents very confidently (his English is flawless, having lived in NYC). He is able to contextualize the museum’s displays into stories that weave Biblical and contemporary Israeli themes as well as Zionist and Jewish concepts. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and recommend Nachliel unconditionally

(Bonus: we were also looking for a guide for the Tel Aviv Museum of Art, and he found us the perfect person - but that is for another review!)

Moshe Wealcatch

Educator, from Baltimore

We recently joined Nachliel Selavan on a visit to the Walters Museum in Baltimore, MD. In the limited time that we had, Nachliel gave us tremendous insight into the various artifacts that we were looking at and explained how to interpret them based on the time periods. Through looking at the objects on display he was able to contextualize the time period and relate it to so much of the Bible and other historical references. His thorough knowledge of Jewish history as well as his clear and concise descriptions would be a tremendous asset to anyone, young and old, history expert or novice, who is fortunate to have him as a tour guide.

Rabbi Menachem Friedman, MSW

Director of student activities, RTMA Middle School

Rabbi Selavan:
I would like to thank you for coming into our school to give your Tanach presentation. Despite the fact that this topic can be technical and non engaging for children you kept them extremely interested and engaged for the entire session.
The topic was presented, not as a subject but as a very real part of our history. The artifacts you brought in made it all the more real as the students were actually able to touch history.
The clarity in which you presented and your use of media made the presentation extremely interesting and your use of Tanach to transmit Jewish values was extremely important and timely. I especially appreciated your emphasis on Jewish unity.
I wish you much success in the future and we hope to have you back soon in our school.

Shlomo Rafaelov

From New York

Truly incredible.
Even time I think about my previous experiences with R’ Nachliel Selavan, I am blown away. He is an incredible orator, with a breath of knowledge that flows and comes together for the most articulate approach weaving together a myriad of sources, research, and a lifetime of experience to his audiences. He will captivate you with every word, and guide you through the Tales of History. A True expert in every sense of the word! Coming back every time!

Ezra and Deborah Safdieh

From New York

Nachliel’s knowledge, energy and understanding of the art was thorough, colorful and rich. Through an intimate knowledge of history as well, he was able to vibrantly relate manifestations of ancient history to modern cultural events. A history lesson through art would have been satisfying enough, but Nachliel’s added touch of historical events as they relate to modern culture, and his willingness to respond to many questions, often tangential, brought the tour to unexpected heights

Daniel L.

Participated Sunday, March 13, 2018

An amazing tour by Nachliel. Using his intellect, humor and vision he was able to bring the story of Pesach back to life. New insights to our slavery and journey to freedom were presented beautifully.
Thank you! I highly recommend and looking forward to future tours

Rabbi Baruch Gigi and Rabbi Amnon Bazak

Yeshivat Har Etzion

We had the privilege to join Nachliel’s exciting guided tour at the Metropolitan Museum, which dealt with Ancient Egypt in advance of Pesach. Nachliel connected between the archaeological artifact and the Exodus story in a professional and exciting way, while displaying impressive scientific, historic and archaeological background knowledge, and fluency in Tanach and Talmudic literature. Nachliel did it with a unique sweetness, engaging the crowd and adapting the content to the various age groups. The tour for us was a wonderful and innovative preparation, and thought-provoking; in advance of the Passover holiday.

Rabbi Moshe Shulman

Young Israel of Saint Louis

We recently had the privilege of hosting Nachliel Selavan as a scholar in residence at our shul in St. Louis. It was exhilarating! His knowledge, erudition and exuberance left people wanting more after every presentation. He has a unique way of bringing history to life through stories, maps, and his ability to use modern technology to take us virtually into an ancient world and see it before our eyes. He engaged all ages - from high school students to seniors. I highly recommend Nachliel as a speaker, or scholar in residence. You won't be disappointed! [Date of program: Dec. 9-10, 2022]

Rabbi Steven Eisenberg

Principal of Ramaz Elementary School, New York

If you are a Lower School Principal or a Chumash teacher, then Nachliel’s Rashi presentation is a MUST! For a few years I have been bringing Nachliel to teach my 3rd grade students about Rashi’s life. Nachliel takes them on a virtual tour of where Rashi grew up, went to Yeshiva, and what it looks like today. Nachliel does a wonderful job, whether in person or remotely, of making Rashi’s life and invaluable contributions relevant and applicable to the students.

Jesse Salem, Brooklyn, NY

Founder of Tanach Study Group
Principal at Sam Salem & Son

Nachliel put together an interactive and informative program in the MET. It was a great experience to see firsthand some of the artifacts that our biblical ancestors saw, as presented to us in the Tanach. It was especially moving to stand under the Ishtar Gate, the same gate our ancestors entered through as they were exiled from Jerusalem to Babel during first temple period, circa 586 BCE.

Rabbi James Williams

Youth Director
Young Israel of Hollywood & Fort Lauderdale

I brought a group of middle school students who had spend the last year studying for the Chidon HaTanach to New York for the national finals…I had presumed that a tour built for middle school students would not be interesting for adults. Nachliel however was able to build an amazing tour that both provided for students and adults on differing levels at the same time. He provided different source packets for different levels and was truly well prepared for the situation.
My students at first were not keen on the idea of a tour and really just wanted to hang out in NYC. Nachliel was able to engage them so well that they enjoyed the tour and learned so much from the experience that it built vast discussion over Shabbat over what we had seen and its relevance to Tanach.
I highly recommend taking a tour with Nachliel and look forward to my next opportunity to do so.

Rabbi Kenigsberg

Congregation Magen Avot, London

Dear Nachliel,
On behalf of the community of Magen Avot I would like to send my enormous thanks to you for giving your time to bring the fascinating and inspiring virtual tour of the Four Kingdoms into our homes. It was a most interesting talk and visual experience that was thought provoking, exciting and very much enjoyed by all. We wish you much Hatzlacha in everything you do and hope that you will consider further talks or perhaps even visiting us in the future.
With very best wishes

Tamar Ellis

Wrote review July 2022 on TripAdvisor

The best museum guide in the business!
I am a big museum nerd. Museums are the first things I check out upon arrival in a city. I try to read all the signs, but can get frustrated when I don't have time to read them all. Especially in a large museum, such as the Israel Museum where there is so much to see. The sheer size is overwhelming.

Nachliel a.k.a. The Museum Guy came to my rescue! He brings the museum to life. His guiding made a world of difference in getting the most out of my museum visit. He's guided me in the Rockefeller Museum, Israel Museum, and the Bible Lands Museum, and I look forward to doing more tours with him.
He combines knowledge and experience with humour.


Puns and pop culture references at no extra charge!
Run, don't walk to book The Museum Guy!

Rabbi Benzion Klatzko

Founder, Shabbat.com

I am happy to highly recommend Nachliel’s Tour to anyone who would like to learn and understand our past and our biblical history. Our family joined his Avraham’s Journey tour in the Metropolitan Museum in New York. The kids were enthralled and the stories from the Torah came alive. It is important to understand that the stories of the Torah are true and happened. These tours go a long way in helping the participants visualize our history.

I highly recommend Torah Intermedia for students and families of all ages! May you be blessed to keep sharing your light and knowledge with the world. Warmly,

Zenia Cohen

Program Committee,
Levonah Chapter of Hadassah-Israel

I just had to write to you and tell you how much your presentation was enjoyed!
I personally found it to be fascinating, and I gained so much knowledge from it!
I especially liked how you used the maps, and presented the information in a format of directions. It helped me to understand the different neighborhoods, from an historical perspective and a modern perspective!
We are already getting feedback from other participants about how much they enjoyed your presentation.
It was so easy to speak with you and plan the evening. Your easy-going personality shone through in both our emails, and phone calls before the program, and during this evening’s presentation!
We will certainly pass on your information to anyone who is interested in using your services in the future!
Thank you!

Rabbi Benjamin J. Samuels

Congregation Shaarei Tefillah, Newton, MA

My family had the honor of hosting Nachliel as a Shabbat lunch guest, and I asked him if he would be willing to speak later that evening at our Shul’s seudah shelishit. Nachliel graciously accepted the invitation and with virtually no notice spoke passionately and compellingly on archeology as it relates to TaNaKh and Jewish history. I hope we have future opportunities to learn from this unique teacher of Torah.

Robin Loewenstein

Director of Vacation Village Day Camp, Loch Sheldrake, NY, 2015

I am writing with regard to Nachliel Selavan, whom I had the distinct pleasure of working with in the summer of 2015. During said summer, I was the director of Vacation Village Day Camp, in the Catskill Mountains, and Nachliel was the Chinuch Director. I could not have been more pleased with his performance. Nachliel’s duties included planning and curriculum building.
This was no easy task, he had to address the needs of children of various ages and from varied Jewish educational backgrounds. Additionally, Nachliel had to compete with sports, drama, and the like, for the children’s interest. His creativity, organization, and preparation yielded unbelievable success. Campers truly enjoyed the project-based learning and went home talking about what they’d learned. Be reminded, this was summer camp!
Nachliel had a great chemistry not only with the campers, but with the counselors as well. He gave them guidance with regard to everything from spirituality to behavior management. He readily shared such hobbies as caricature drawing and Capoeira. He assisted with Color War and participated in the camp play. Nachliel was generally available to assist with all aspects of camp.

Rabbi Meir Goldberg

Meor Rutgers Jewish Xperience

We had Nachliel come to our campus and teach two groups of 30 + Rutgers students, most with limited Jewish background. The presentation was very well received and got great reviews from our students.
Nachliel really brought Tanach to life and made the students feel a powerful connection to Yerushalayim. I recommend that you bring Nachliel down to your shul, school or campus and have him inspire your students.

MTAmom

Wrote review Aug 2022 on TripAdvisor

Worth every penny!
A Jerusalem native (fluent English) with a passion for history, and an innate talent for engaging people of all ages - I loved the energy and got the feeling that the tour was tailored to us!
Nachliel and the duckies took us on a private tour of the Old City. Of course, I’ve been there many times, but this time saw things with different eyes and heard personal stories. We looked at the ground differently, at the roofs differently (and climbed a few), it was like walking thru someone’s backyard with them where they can tell you something about every rock and branch. At the same time, Nachliel was great with the 13-year-olds, guiding them on a stroll thru history, asking them questions at every turn and adjusting to fit their level.
Thank you for a wonderful morning and only wish we had time to do the museum tour as well.

Sami Brandspiegal

President of Rutgers Hillel Student Board

I really enjoyed the Rosh Hashanah program. I thought it was incredibly engaging and well done. Nachliel was able to relate everything back to us to make it easy to comprehend”

Dr. Mayer and Arlene Teles

From Baltimore

Thank you Nachliel for a real eye opener! Arlene and I could have wandered for hours or even days in those endless halls of statues and artifacts of the Met. We would not have gleaned anything close to your two hour engaging tour. Your exceptional ability to organize and keep the group spell bound with your breadth of Tanach knowledge especially as it related to Assyria, Egypt and Israel was outstanding!

E. Sutton

Participated Sunday, March 25, 2018

Nachliel facilitated a fantastic tour for us on a very busy Sunday in the Met. His presentation was thorough and engaging and the two hours flew by. As a former teacher, I was particularly impressed with his ability to differentiate the content for our diverse group of participants with ages ranging from 7 to 55+ years old…His jokes were on point but more important, his interpretation and retelling of history was relatable to each and everyone of us. We connected to the exhibits and considered the implications of what stood before us in ways we never did before…

Levi Simon

Tour guide. Wrote review Jun 2022 on TripAdvisor

Fun, interactive and well educated

Fun, interactive and well-educated tour about the source of money and how it developed through the generations.
Knew his was well around and generally an enjoyable experience.
Well recommended

Isaac S

Wrote review Aug 2022 on TripAdvisor

Fantastic private museum guide!
Nachliel makes the museum come alive. He's knowledgeable, friendly, great at connecting with kids and adults, and totally into sharing ancient worlds with modern audiences. He's also flexible and can read a group and understand if they're tired, interested in some tangent, or need to be regrouped.

Hindy Giladi

Wrote review June 2019 on TripAdvisor

High Impact - tour combo

I have visited the Metropolitan Museum of Art countless times as it is a short walk from my home and have seen the permanent exhibits countless times. After my tour with Nachliel yesterday, exhibits and artifacts that I had just given a glance to in the past became fascinating.

Nachliel's broad knowledge of Jewish History, archeology and Jewish texts gave seemingly boring museum exhibits deep significance and meaning. Stories and episodes from Tanach became alive and real.

Nachliel's passion for Jewish History , archeology and texts is contagious and wants to make you run out and enroll in a PHD program on any of these subjects. I am eagerly awaiting his next tour or book.

Moses Sutton ("Hebrew word of the day" guy)

Wrote review Jun 2022 on TripAdvisor

Bible Lands Museum Tour for Families.

Kid-friendly interactive tour of the museum with a focus on Ancient Egypt and the story of Passover. Nachliel pulled us in with a sense of humor and brought the Haggadah to life for my kids. He made the museum's impressive exhibits accessible and relevant for them.

It was a great activity for our vacation day in Jerusalem that both parents and kids learned from, I've recommended Nachliel to family and friends and would definitely do another tour with him in the future!

Mom of KERN

Wrote review July 2022 on TripAdvisor

Amazing with kids, fun for adults too.
Nachliel is amazing. We spent two afternoons with him, one at the Israel Museum and the other at the Bible Lands Museum.

Our kids didn't want to go to any museums. That changed as soon as they met Nachliel. Right off the bat his sense of humour and interactive style won them over. He brought themed rubber duckies (a Roman centurion, Zeus, an Egyptian Mummy) and when he wasn't using them to illustrate a point, he gave them to the kids to hold.

Nachliel's wealth of knowledge is truly impressive. He teaches without lecturing. He comes prepared, not just with ducks, but with materials that help history come alive, like paper and pens so the kids could figure out how to write their names in Ancient Hebrew.

Beyond that, he's fun, friendly, and knows how to talk to kids *and* adults. He keeps tabs on the energy level of the group and whether the kids are still into it, and adjusts the tour accordingly.

We could have just visited the museum without Nachliel, but the kids wouldn't have been half as interested and would have probably been itching to go after the first half hour. We would definitely hire him again next time we're in Jerusalem.

Alana Engel

Student at Rutgers School of Social work

We had a wonderful experience with Rav Nachliel at the Met! He was obviously very knowledgeable about all the art, and was able to answer any questions we threw at him. His passion and enthusiasm throughout the tour was infectious, keeping me interested and even genuinely excited to learn. The best part was that he was able to connect the information he presented to Tanach, which made the whole experience really unique and meaningful. Would definitely recommend him to anyone!

Leila Gordon

Holiday Co-chair of Rutgers Hillel Student Board

I liked seeing the visual of all of the holidays spread out in order. I had never heard of some of them so I was interested to learn more about their significance. And of course Lion King is never a bad thing!
It was a relaxed environment which I enjoyed, and I thought he taught well. A little awkward sometimes with all of the papers and things, but they were a useful prop too.

Rabbanit Shani Taragin

After a tour with Matan, Women's Institute for Torah Studies

I strongly recommend and encourage everyone to join Nachliel Selavan “The Museum Guy” on his tour of the Bible Lands Museum. I just concluded one in the footsteps of Daniel “The Four Kingdoms” with a group of Tanach educators. And we are all walking out with not only a renewed appreciation of Tanach, but appreciating the civilizations, the symbols, the meaning behind them, that help bring Tanach to life. Come join and learn from Nachliel Selavan and bring Tanach to a greater appreciation and understanding.

Miriam Krupka

Dean of Faculty, Tanakh Department Chair, The Ramaz Upper School

The faculty of the Ramaz Upper School Bible Department really enjoyed our 3 hour session with Nachliel. We started in the classroom with an overview of reading materials and maps associated with the era and then accompanied Nachliel to view various artifacts from the Assyrian and Babylonian periods. He tailored the tour to specific areas of our Bible Curriculum as per our request and was interesting and entertaining throughout! I highly recommend the tour for both educators and non-educators alike, especially if you are interested in the context, both historically and philosophically, behind specific biblical texts.

Mrs. Linda Srour

History teacher at Barkai

Our class at Barkai Yeshivah had the privilege of inviting Nachliel into our classroom virtually for an engaging and enriching experience. Nachliel truly brought the material to life with his animations and vibrant slide show which allowed the virtual visit to feel lively and interesting. Additionally, Nachliel's knowledge about the world and Jewish history allowed our students to make connections and take ownership of the information in a tangible way. One of the most exciting parts of the lesson was when students were given the opportunity to decipher ancient writing on their own. This allowed the students to act as historians to understand the process of decoding languages and to understand how language evolved over the years. We will definitely be reaching out and planning more visits in the future!

Mrs. Miriam Wielgus

Jewish History Chair, Joel Braverman Yeshivah of Flatbush High School

Our Jewish History tours of the Met were just fabulous and a highlight of our year! Nachliel Selavan, the educator who led the tours, is passionate, extremely knowledgeable, and highly entertaining. He knows how to engage the students and keep their attention. Rather than the standard walk/lecture approach through the ancient history galleries, he employs fun and exciting interactive techniques like scavenger hunts, riddles, jokes and more to get students (and teachers too!) to be active participants and learners during the tours.
The tour brings so much of what we study in class to life. Our curriculum in ancient Jewish history covers the Greco-Roman period and seeing that culture vividly depicted and explained immeasurably enhances our curriculum and contribute to a greater appreciation of our history.
I cannot recommend these tours highly enough!

Dovi Nadel

Coordinator, National Bible Contest
The Jewish Agency for Israel

For kids participating in the Chidon Ha’Tanach who had spent their entire year immersed in dozens of chapters of Tanach, the Tanach Tour conducted by Nachliel was the perfect experience. He brought the texts that they had learned to life in an entirely new way. Students loved the energy in and excitement he brought to the tour. We’re excited to continue to partner with his Tanach Tours in the future!”

Aimee Bailey

Sephardic Community Alliance Board member

I had the pleasure of attending 2 amazing tours with Nachliel these past couple of months (April 2019).
First, was a daytime tour I worked with Nachliel to organize as part of a series exploring Art & Idolatry in the ancient world. We explored the strange and fascinating world of the Ancient Near East, and Greco-Roman period through the eyes of Torah and our tradition. We revisited Torah verses we thought we knew, and watched them take shape in front of our eyes at the Met. We left with a deeper understanding of our ancestor’s struggles, and a greater insight into our history.
After that tour, I couldn’t think of a more enjoyable way for my family to spend Hol Hamoed Pesah than with Nachliel at his “Leaving Egypt without leaving New York” kids-tour at the Met. From the moment we arrived our kids were engaged and excited to learn, carrying their crayons and clipboards ready to accomplish their missions. Through non-stop fun Nachliel kept the kids (and adults) hooked! We were fully immersed in ancient Egyptian culture, and were naturally questioning what effect it had on us now, and over 3,000 years ago. From the Nile River, to mummies, to the history of bread-making, we experienced Egyptian life and what it meant to be free from it on Pesah!

Nachliel’s talent and knowledge is such a gift to experience, I’m looking forward to the next tour!

Rachel R. Harari

Department Chair, English Language Arts
Magen David Yeshivah – Joe & Celia Esses High School

Thank you so much for an incredible tour of Ancient Greece at the Met! The tour aligned perfectly with our 9th grade unit on Greek Mythology and Greek Tragedy, and deepened our students’ learning on the subject. Mr. Selavan was extremely knowledgable, interactive, and moulded the tour based specifically on the needs of the students. We will definitely be organizing another tour next year!

Rabbi Joseph Dweck

Rosh Yeshivah – Head of School, Barkai Yeshivah, Brooklyn, NY

I have known Nachliel Selavan for over ten years. I know him to be a serious and dedicated individual to the work in which he invests. Nachliel has many talents that make him a strong teacher…Every time I’ve observed him teach I have not only been able to follow his lessons with absolute clarity, I also learn something new. Nachliel has an excellent knowledge of Tanach.
In addition to being a caring and erudite teacher, he is also artistic and creative. During his time at Barkai Yeshivah, Nachliel drew beautiful pictures for each Parshat haShavua. They enhanced the school environment and the staff and students enjoyed them a great deal. He has helped with the artistic element for many school programs and events…

Dr. Nisan Hershkowitz

A president of the New York State Academy of General Dentistry, Brooklyn, NY

I went with Nachliel to the Metropolitan Museum of Art on several occasions. Nachliel is enthusiastic about Torah and archaeology, explaining Tanach and teachings of Chazal in a very engaging manner, passionately bringing Torah to life through the history and the archaeology that we explored together.Indeed, I too look forward to join him on future programs…

Becky S

Wrote review Aug 2022 on TripAdvisor

Excellent museum tour guide!!!
We had an amazing fun experience with the museum guy, as he took us around the Israel museum. Both myself and my kids aged (7 & 11) found him exciting, fun and extremely knowledgeable. Nachliel was able to engage all ages while keeping it very interesting for the adults. Highly recommend doing the Israel museum with his tour!!

Rabbi Ilan D. Feldman

Congregation Beth Jacob, Atlanta GA

The talk was given with enthusiasm, clarity, by an obvious master of the subject. He was able to demonstrate the connection between archeological finds and Biblical verses, such that it felt as if we were discussing current events. The discussion left me craving to learn more about the Prophets and their history.

Rabbi Chaim Davies

Talmudic University

We recently had the opportunity to have Rav Nachliel lecture at our institution about the Biblical perspective of the geography of Israel. In his brief but powerful presentation, he actively engaged the students in a participative exercise sketching the pathways of our forefathers through Israel on their journeys. He displayed mastery in both Jewish History and geography while offering a startling new perspective of the layout of Israel and the importance of visual learning. The students walked away with renewed excitement and a fresh interest in our holy sites!

Dena Lieblich

Wrote review July 2022 on TripAdvisor

Great experience
Nachliel is so knowledgeable and makes his tours interesting and engaging for all ages. He really brings his subject matter to life. He makes every museum visit an adventure. I have done tours with him at the Met, the British Museum, and the Israel museum. Go and see for yourself. Highly recommend.

Miriam F. Teplow

Former Chairman of Gallery Instructors at the Boston MFA

It was my pleasure to share in the tour of guide Nachliel Selavan at the Israel museum. The rooms of archeology brought us into the Phoenician, Mycenaean and Roman periods…Nachliel was quite versed in the archeological finds. We journeyed through cultures, lands and peoples with the interplays and interpretations and influences on each other and into the future.

Nachliel’s well chosen words, exciting introductions and historic connections brought us into the first and second temple periods with great grandeur in architecture, coloration of Hadrian times he sprung us into the future..the influences architecturally build on today’s interpretations and springboard me back to my Boston MFA days of doing classical tours and directing many programs as chairman of the gallery instructors…

So, I thank Nachliel Selavan for his creativity and his royal tour.

Dr. Charles Manopla

From New York

I was born and have lived my whole life in Brooklyn. I’ve been to the Brooklyn Museum many times, but after taking a tour with Rav Nachliel I feel as though I’ve seen it for the first time. His wealth of information and story telling skills bring to life an otherwise routine walk through the Assyrian and Egyptian exhibits. I felt as though I was walking through the centuries with our forefathers as Rav Nachliel would correlate the pieces in the exhibit to familiar dates and events in the history of Bnei Yisrael, as well as explain the meaning behind countless inscriptions and sculptures. He brings years of hard work and research right to your fingertips. I highly recommend taking a tour, few people around have the expertise to bring history to life in such a way.

Rabbi Yehoshua Lewis

Director, Mesorah New Jersey

Nachliel brings a unique perspective to​ a fascinating subject, and our group of young professionals was enthralled by his multimedia presentation. Drawing on his own personal archaeological experience, he makes the ancient cities of Lachish and Jerusalem come alive, and breathes life into the Biblical characters of King David, King Hezekiah and Sannecherib.

Anonymous

Wrote review Jun 2022 on TripAdvisor

Bible Lands Museum - ancient history comes alive!
Ancient history and archeology is not usually my thing. But somehow Nachliel makes it all come alive. His tour was interesting, relevant and on point. I would definitely do other tours with him. He is a fabulous tour guide!

Susan Eckman

Chairperson, Vacation Village Cultural Committee
Loch Sheldrake, NY, 2015

To Whom I May Concern,
As the Chairperson of the Cultural Committee of Vacation Village, I had the pleasure of inviting Nachliel Selavan to be the featured speaker on a Shabbat afternoon during the summer of 2015 before a large and diversified crowd. He spoke about the connection between Tanach and the Geography of the land, a subject that he knows well. He described the topic in both an educated and interesting manner allowing his audience to gain much insight from the Biblical text as our guide. Because of his topic there were more young people than usual who followed closely both his narrative and the varied visual materials employed during the talk. Mr. Selavan’s presentation was engaging and entertaining, involving a large span of ages for a memorable experience.
It was a rather novel experience to see issues in Tanach, and about Israel and Geography brought to life under Nachliel’s well-prepared, unique and capable instruction.
Sincerely,

Shlomo M

Wrote review Aug 2022 on TripAdvisor

Wonderful tour guide for the Israel Museum
Nachliel was very responsive before the tour, during the tour, and even after the tour, as he was very forthcoming in helping me plan my trip and discover other areas of interest. Nachliel engaged my kids, ranging in age from 12 to 15, and he helped make the Israel museum engaging and not so overwhelming for all of us! Your kids will get a lot more out of the museum if Nachliel takes you around! Thank you Nachliel for being such a knowledgeable, engaging, and dedicated guide!

Meir Simcha Panzer

Wrote review Aug 2022 on TripAdvisor

Excellent! Meaningful!
With Nachliel's help, my kids and I did a tour of about 1.5 hours at the Israel Museum as preparation for Tisha B'Av. We started outside with the model of 2nd Temple era Jerusalem, then we dove into the archaeology galleries, the Roman occupation, their armor and weapons, our rebellions, the coins and what they show us, ... Nachliel gave us more than facts; he made wonderful connections between the artifacts and our customs today, wearing ashes, breaking a glass, etc. It was a deeply meaningful tour. And Nachliel really knows how to engage kids. If you're in Jerusalem and you want to give your kids real, meaningful, Jewish content, I can't recommend Nachliel enough.

Jesse Sutton

From New York

This was an amazing experience! Our family really felt like our history was before our eyes and from now on Hanukkah will be much more meaningful and inspiring. Nachliel’s knowledge of the museum artifacts combined with his personal experience and his knowledge and warm fun personality make him a great choice for a fantastic tour experience! I suggest you read the materials beforehand if possible and read up on the subjects he will be touring about as It will enrich the experience that much more.

Jacob Holdowsky

Finance Major at Rutgers Business School

I was impressed with Nachliel’s vast knowledge base and ability to highlight the Jewish interactions with different nations of the world throughout history. I highly recommend his tour of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. He’ll show you the Jewish fingerprints and paint a larger picture showing the path of our people within the museum’s exhibits.

Mrs. Frieda Cattan

Jewish History Teacher
Magen David Yeshivah Celia Esses High School, Brooklyn, NY

Rav Nachliel led my ninth grade Jewish History students on an eye – opening tour of the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Assyrian, Egyptian, and Babylonian wings. It was important to me that my students gain the requisite background knowledge to more deeply understand the Second Temple Period.
Before the museum trip, Rav Nachliel visited my classes to introduce artifacts which the students would be viewing in the museum. He also prepared excellent resource material including maps and accompanying text. The following week my two classes met Rav Nachliel at the Met. The students were excited to view the artifacts which Rav Nachliel had carefully selected. His descriptions engaged them and evoked curiosity.
A majority of the students had never been to a museum, and they expressed how much they loved and appreciated the experience as well as their desire to return. I noticed that the students approached the next part of their study enthusiastically as they researched and created Second Temple Period artifacts based on what they had learned at the Met.
Rav Nachliel was professional and thorough and provided an enriching and worthwhile learning experience. I highly recommend a museum tour guided by Rav Nachliel.

Leave a Testimonial

How satisfied are you?
Very dissatisfiedA bit dissatisfiedPretty satisfiedSatisfiedVery satisfied
bottom of page